FMP: Week 3 Summary

What work was completed this week?

This week was not as productive as I would have liked, due to the fact I was working a 45 hour working week split between week 2 and this one. I was, therefore, limited with what work I could complete and had to work through the weekend as well as beginning of the week. However, I was able to film another interview with someone who games during the majority of their free time and was able to gain a new perspective on the subject of gaming addiction as someone who wouldn’t identify himself as an addict as he did not feel qualified to discuss the subject. He also went on to discuss the length of play he has put into a game since its release in the past 2 weeks and discussed how he felt about the time he has put into gaming. His perspective was very self aware and was incredible open and honest, it gives a very human element to the documentary and I will definitely be using a lot of this particular interview to guide my documentary.

Following on from this I was also able to film his surroundings in order to get footage of him gaming as well as getting B reel footage for his interview.

The major element that was completed this week was the 24 hour gaming marathon social experiment. During this time I live streamed the entire thing and have uploaded the files to YouTube as evidence (unfortunately only 17 out of the 24 hours was archived correctly on the streaming site, however I feel this should suffice as evidence). I also created a video diary of the experiment recording some B reel from various angles while I played as well as a piece to camera every 3 hours discussing how I’m feeling and anything note worthy. This is a very large element of the documentary completed and I am confident with a few more interviews completed I will be able to begin the editing stages (which will be documented in the production log).

I have been given two more e-mail contacts from the University of Kent and Canterbury Christ Church University of experts on addiction, however I have yet to hear back from them as the Universities are currently on their Easter breaks.

Problems faced

This week the major problems related to time management. Due to the financial implications of going to University I am forced to have to spend a significant amount of my free time, that I would otherwise use for the project, working so I can save to afford university and it’s various costs. Having worked 45 hours from the Monday to Friday I was incredibly limited in terms of what time I had to work and suffered a lack of energy and motivation to work on the project after a full day at work. As such I had to work through the weekend instead.

Another main problem was the fallout from the social experiment. I lost 2 days to the recording of this aspect of the project. The first day was just the completion of the experiment, the second day I slept through entirely while recovering from sleep deprivation having been awake for 26 hours (as the first 2 were used for setup). So having lost the Wednesday-Friday to work and then the Monday and Tuesday to the social experiment I had very little time for the work I would have liked to complete.

In terms of problems with recording I encountered none as all previous audio and video issues have been resolved in the previous two weeks.

How they were overcome

In terms of time management I am planning on making up on any lost time the next week as I have the week off of work and no prior commitments. For example this summary is currently going up a few days late due to this and I am slightly behind on my production log but this will easily be caught up on by the end of next week.

In terms of having lost time due to sleep deprivation I made sure to catch up on sleep by sleeping immediately after the experiment and then had a very calm day the following day to rest up and went to bed early and as of today have effectively caught up on my sleep schedule and returned to normal. If anything this loss of time is something I can reflect on in the documentary and I therefore mark this as a positive rather than an issue.

Evaluation of work completed this week

While this week wasn’t the most productive I’ve had to date I do still feel the quality of work completed was of a high standard.

While I have yet to catch up on the production log and am slightly behind on it, considering I am ahead of schedule due to the completion of both the pitch and research I am still on track currently. However the loss of time has been an issue and I will likely have to take on less work in the future in order to maintain a balance so I can dedicate the time I require for the project. While my motivation was affected by the amount of time I was at work I have been given a lot of information and resources from word of mouth. It was also while at work I was given the two e-mail contacts I mentioned above. As I work for a nursery at the University of Kent, I am frequently in contact with lecturers from the University several of which work in the psychology and sociology department and I have been able to use this to my advantage thus far.

While only one interview was completed this week it was a very important one that I feel gave a very interesting view on the subject of the whole topic as a whole. I got some very honest opinions and I felt the fact that this gamer in particular doesn’t identify himself as he believes its not his place was very interesting and not one I have received thus far. It was also during my 24 hour experiment that I discussed this with another friend of mine I was playing with. He stated that his parents felt he was addicted despite the fact he protested it, this has given me the idea to interview both him and his parents if possible to get this perspective also. This is something I would have not considered without the interview and the social experiment. I therefore classify both as a success.

In regards to the filming quality, the video was framed with the rule of thirds and I shifted focus between the interviewee and the screen on which he was gaming from one perspective, and then purely on him for the interview where he is not gaming. Again I have had him look at me across the camera as is the practice for interviews. This contrasts well with the piece to camera video diaries from the social experiment. I also framed him to the right to contrast the fact I have filmed the majority of interviews framed to the left to give some visual differentiation in order to more appropriately visually stimulate the audience. I also feel the fact that this was filmed in the home of the gamer rather than in college with the majority of the other interviews gives a good differentiation as it gives a more human element and honesty about the person not found in a college environment. The interviewee is also more likely to feel comfortable and give a more relaxed and honest answer because of this.

Next week I plan on being incredibly productive in terms of the interviews I have planned for the week, I have a minimum of two more interviews with game design lecturers and have contact information for several students who I made contact with during the gaming festival. I will also continue to work on my production log and ensure I have done all the appropriate written work to accompany my production to date.

Evidence of work completed

Was work completed in reference to plan/ am  I on track?

As discussed in detail above time was an issue this week. As such I have fallen behind on the production log side of the project, however, I am still overall ahead of schedule. In reference to my original plan I am still on task and working to schedule.

Next week’s itinerary

  1. Interview gaming lecturers
  2. Interview gaming students
  3. Work on logging all work necessary for the production log to date
  4. Load all video files to computer and upload back ups to one drive

 

FMP: Week 3 Summary

One thought on “FMP: Week 3 Summary

  1. tomrowse says:

    All criteria met to a very high standard. The research and the amount of detail demonstrate your interest and passion for the themes and chosen form.
    All aspects of this project, so far, have been developed to the highest level

    You have reflected and recorded the developments, problems and solutions effectively.
    Work submitted meets all assessment criteria and is of a very high standard. Comprehensive understanding and knowledge of subject context used to articulate concept (the brief), ideas, and ambitions for the project and continual explanation of purpose. Independently identified, thorough and sustained research and investigation of a range of relevant sources – insightful interpretation and blend of information used to develop ideas.
    Detailed and coherent self-directed planning, subject engagement and commitment.
    Accomplished and professional communication; perceptive analysis and interpretation, demonstrating clarity and sophistication in thinking and maturity in decision making to progress ideas.
    In-depth understanding of skills and visual and audio awareness. An imaginative and flexible approach to processes. Skills and knowledge applied to develop creative solutions.
    And a joy to read.
    There are clearly several articles to be written as a result of the research and your distinctive insight and knowledge of the subject
    For future perhaps you could pitch a number of ideas to a selection of magazines and/or newspapers to test the waters with regards to commissions.
    try writing one when you have time and we can work on that over the summer perhaps – or you could take them to university and ask lecturers to guide you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

