Independent learning week: Unit 10

4 designers who have influenced my design work in regards to creating the card

I have attached an annotated version of the 4 main card designs which have influenced how I intend to design my cards moving forward.

Annotation

Pokémon

From Pokémon I was informed previously when interviewing the child, that this was the second most preferred card design. He liked the colours and the image being in the centre. This is likely because of it being centralised and drawing attention and was reminiscent of Football playing cards he had at his house.

From this I intend to take the idea of a bright colour scheme and the bordered design.

Munchkin

From Munchkin I intend to take the simple design and stylised text to suit the nature of the game. However I will likely use a brighter colour scheme. I may incorporate the idea of the background being parchment but I may put a colour filter over it in-keeping with the colour scheme.

Top Trumps

This design was in my opinion over designed. I have included this in terms of influencing my designs in terms of what not to include. There was a lot of flavour text that was too small to read. In previous discussions with my illustrator we have agreed to stick to making as simple a design as possible to not confuse the child. Therefore avoiding the overly busy design shown in this. I also dislike the bright red used for the border. From training I received at the nursery as part of ‘Communication and Friendly Spaces’, I learnt that red is to be avoided with children. It overstimulates the children and can over excite them. While this is used with Pokémon, the cards have dulled the image and do not have it as brightly to avoid this.

Adventure Time

The image for this is basic, it includes stats in bubbles which I believe will help with my design work. This can used well for the card’s question number section.

Overall

All 4 designs have a border, therefore it is expected to use this design element. The images are always centred and usually take up a minimum of half the page. The image is clearly the most important element and obviously will be for the story telling element of the card game I am creating. I believe a curved border is the best way to go in order to follow with the design aesthetic used by 3/4 of the cards analysed.

Biblography:

Cryptozoic, (n.d.). Adventure Time Card Wars: Cornataur. [image] Available at: http://www.adventuretimecardwars.com/Category:Cornfield_Cards [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

Pokémon, (n.d.). Shiny Charizard Card from Pokémon trading card game. [image] Available at: http://www.PokeOrder.com [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

Steve Jackson Games, (n.d.). Munchkin – Duck Of Doom Card. [image] Available at: http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/duckofdoom [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

Winning Moves, (n.d.). Top Trump Big Ben card. [image] Available at: http://shop.engineshedtoys.co.uk/london-30-things-to-see-top-trumps-6823-p.asp [Accessed 2 Nov. 2016].

Independent learning week: Unit 10

One thought on “Independent learning week: Unit 10

  1. Celia Feedback:
    Great research Scott! Try using Adobe Illustrator to create your own brushes – your can then trace over the supplied illustrations that you have commissioned to explore different outcomes. The Munchkin card illustration was created in Adobe Illustrator using a rough brush.

    Check out:

    Like

Leave a Reply

