Progression Week: Summary of Term 1

Over the term I have learnt many skills and have definitely improved significantly improved my ability as a journalist. There have been 3 main areas of skills that have been covered this term: production, research and interview technique.

In terms of production I have very much enjoyed all the work set and tasks completed this term. This included learning new software in order to create double page spreads, front covers as well as video and audio skills in order to use different forms of media to present information. I have found all the software relatively easy to learn how to use. Adobe audition and premiere easy to understand due to a background in both video and audio editing as a hobby. Therefore I picked up the new software relatively quickly and had no real issues. It did take a bit of time for me to get used to the different hot keys for actions as they are different when compared to Sony Vegas – which is the software I use at home. Photoshop I found very user friendly and did not take me long to pick up. Anytime I had any problems or wanted to do something specific I just looked up a tutorial online. InDesign was probably the only production related skill set that took me a while to get a grasp on. It took me about 2 months of continually use before I felt confident using it, however, how I have put in significant practise I am happy with my ability to use it to create professional looking layouts.

These production skills will be very helpful going forward into the next module which will focus on video and audio much more heavily than this term. Also helps greatly with projects I am involved with outside of college and with this skill set allows me to begin creating a portfolio for future employers and university applications.

The research skill set I found very useful as it allowed me to learn how to effectively determine what information is essential and how to use information and present it in a way to portray a certain angle. This will be very useful especially when combining this with production skills in terms of how to use layout to present certain points more than others. The tasks we did extensively covered research skills and how to use a mixture of both secondary and primary sources to cause my writing to be much more reliable and credible.

These skills will be very helpful next term when combined with various other skills such as portraying a certain perspective or angle. This will also work well when used in conjunction with the interview skills I have learnt.

While I thought initially that interview etiquette was fairly straightforward there were a lot of skills I was able to learn through research and tasks. This helped greatly with my recent presentation. I incorporated my previous skills of research with the body language and personal presentation skills taught to me in lessons relating in how to conduct an interview appropriately. Using these I have now conducted several successful interviews and used it to gain an insight into games development for independent developers for my final project. While I can still have a tendency to be informal it is something I have worked hard to improve as well as improving my overall posture in general and presenting myself in a more professional manner. This has helped to make me more approachable when working with others and has helped tremendously with my interviewing style.

I am not sure how this will fit into next terms curriculum but the presentation skills will continue to help improve the overall professionalism of how I present my work and by extension myself. These skills will benefit me very much in future, especially in a career relating to the media and journalism industries.

Progression Week: Summary of Term 1

Leave a Reply

